Skip To Content

More About PJC

96 receive their GED diplomas Tuesday

Published or Revised May 11, 2006


Raven Gomez, right, of Paris received the Bobby R. and Imy Walters Scholarship during GED ceremonies. Janie Bonham, Director of Paris Junior College Adult Education is shown congratulating Gomez.

Ninety-six students received their GED diplomas Tuesday night in ceremonies held by the Adult Education Department at Paris Junior College.

Dwight Chaney, Dean of Academic Studies, welcomed the graduates, their families and friends to the graduation ceremonies held in the PJC theater.

PJC President Dr. Pamela Anglin introduced Lamar County Judge Chuck Superville, who addressed the graduates. Anglin shared with the audience that Superville reads to second graders every week and that he has done so for the past ten years for the same teacher.

Superville, himself a GED graduate, told the audience that his most meaningful education experience was obtaining his GED diploma and the ring that accompanied it.

“The mark of an educated person is someone who can learn from the written word and the experiences of others,” he said. “You have learned how to learn and this diploma enhances the quality of your life. This milestone puts you on equal status with all other graduates.”

Janie Bonham, Adult Education and Family Literacy Consortium Director, presented Raven Gomez of Paris with the Bobby R. and Imy Walters Scholarship. Gomez plans to pursue training as a surgical technician or radiology technician.

Jordan Hackney of Paris was awarded the Daon Wall Memorial Scholarship. Hackney plans to pursue work in photography and film with an aim at becoming a director. Hackney will graduate from PJC this semester. His father, mother and brother are also taking classes at the college.

The Texas Association for Literacy and Adult Education Scholarships were presented to Carrie Bates, Sulphur Springs, and Mitzi Black and Sheila Kyle both of Paris.

Dr. Anglin and Chaney presented diplomas to the following students:

Paris: Jennifer Adkins, Tazlena Angus, Larry Baird, James Barnes, Jinnie Bellamy, Amanda Bernhardt, Andrew Bonnegent, Elva Brooks, Timothy Brown, Amanda Browner, Yvonne Bynum, Angela Caviness, Hunter Clinkenbeard, William Clouse, Ben Cox, Veronica Crosby, Joseph Deion, Dara Duttenhoffer, Gary Ford, Amber Gibbons, James Gilbreath, Raven Gomez, and Victoria Griffin.

Also Jordan Hackney, Joshua Hall, Kaye Hamilton, Kayla Harrell, Ross Haselton, Ryan Hines, Christine Huckaby, Kadarrius Jackson, Natasha Jackson, Courtney Kelley, Mandie Lamb, Wesley Lester, Peixing Liang, Burri Miner, Kristin Moore, Laura Mitchell, Amber Myers, Ashlee Myers, Sheena Oswald, Cynthia Seward

Arthur City: Sherry McCool, Trevor McDowra, Trista Shawhart, Naemi Simpson, Carolyn Smith, Michael Stewart, Heather Upchurch, Calvin VanHuss, Ana Vesquez, Gwynn Woolum

Avery: Maria Fanning

Blossom: Roxie Buckles, David Decker, Rubin Jones, Tina Offutt

Brookston: Robert Oatridge

Campbell: Nicole Miller

Clarksville: Kathy Byrd

Columbia: Nikita Butler

Como: Brandy Sharp

Deport: Jessilynn English, Amy Loftin

Detroit: Tanesha Wortham

Emory: Amber Welch, Samuel Williams

Enloe: Diana Caldwell

Honey Grove: Eloy Loewen

Lake Creek: Michael Hayes

Pattonville: Chase Greer

Point: Stephanie Williams

Powderly: Denise Chandler, Elias Dorough, Jennie Logsden, Stacy Willingham, Laticia Wilson

Reno: Rollin Farmer, Bernice Rodriguez

Sulphur Springs: Curtis Afdahl, Casey Fouse, Beverly Krahn, Sulema Martinez, Andrew Moody, Jose Ortega, Alicia Patterson, Sharon Rivera, Stefanie Smythe, Brandi Sughrue, Saturnino Tellez, Jose Vallejo, Jamie Winkle

Sumner: Angela Brown, Cristal Frazar

Winnsboro: Charleston Green

Library Hours Banner