Skip To Content

More About PJC

Phi Theta Kappa sees large number of PJC students inducted

Published or Revised November 03, 2014

fall PTK induction

A large crowd was inducted as part of the 82nd year of Phi Theta Kappa at Paris Junior College, which is celebrating its 90th anniversary.

A double celebration highlighted the recent fall induction of Paris Junior College students into the Beta Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the two-year college honor society. This is PJC’s 90th year and the 82nd anniversary of the chapter at PJC.

“As I travel to other community colleges and state and national conventions, I find that our students match up against anybody in this nation,” said PJC President Dr. Pam Anglin. “I want to be the first to congratulate you and thank you for choosing PJC to further your education.”

Featured speaker was archivist Daisy Harvill from PJC’s A.M. and Welma Aikin Regional Archives, who was also a member of Phi Theta Kappa in 1962-63 and a longtime PTK sponsor herself after she returned to PJC as archivist and English teacher.

“It’s a great honor to be back to speak of my long association with the Beta Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa,” Harvill said. “I was always proud to be a member and still am, and I hope this organization ”

Harvill reminisced about how PTK sponsors Mary Lou Williams, wife of then-president Louis B. Williams and Myra Fuller, who taught English and horseback riding at PJC, inspired her to become an English teacher.

She also shared PTK activities from when she was a student, such as how voting for the Maid of Spring cost one cent and proceeds sponsored PTK’s ad in the yearbook, The Galleon. For the five charter members, eligibility was based on a 90 percent average in grades. In 1954, PTK won the national award for most active chapter in the nation. Beta Zeta won again in 1955, was runner-up in 1956, and upon winning in 1957 gained permanent possession of the award plaque. In 1966, PTK named the national award after the Beta Zeta chapter due to the number of their wins.

An explanation of PTK symbols and led by PTK officers including president Paula Vaughan, Vice President Daniel Colin and Treasurer Aaron Sturgess preceded the induction ceremony. Though only one induction ceremony will be held this fall, members will continue to be accepted through the end of the semester.

PTK offers $37 million in transfer scholarships to more than 700 colleges and universities in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, and online. Members are also eligible to apply for scholarships and award programs to assist them with costs of attending two-year schools.

Students who are in PTK also have opportunities to develop qualities of scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service.

As each new member’s name was read, the students lit their candle of light and learning and signed the official membership book.  Students inducted (first from Texas towns, then other states) include:

Avery: Racheal Rhea
Bagwell: Sheliah Freeman
Blossom: Jenaveve Lester, Heather Payne, Lauren Ray and Katy Wilkins
Bonham: Amy Hampton
Brookston: Katharine Wiebe
Caddo Mills: Kelsea Garnett and Jeffery Parsons
Celeste: Nathan Warren
Clarksville: Cedric Crawford
Commerce: Lorie Gregory-Doolin
Emory: Roger Hunt
Garland: Chengzhou Liang
Greenville: Tina Ball, Alexxus Banks, Jasmine Bates, Trixie Brockway, Marley Brown, Shanelle Carlisle, Austin Etheridge, Mandi Farley, Brandon Grob, Richard Horton, Elizabeth Pickle, Miriam Rodarte, Rosa Rodriguez, Lacy Sorrells and Geovanni Velaquez
Ladonia: J.J. Fornof
Lake Creek: William Watson
Lone Oak: Tracey Stevens-Blotz
Paris: Cade Armstrong, Kyle Boor, Elena Crawford, Cesar Cid, Skylar Dillen, Alicia Harris, April Horton, Rusty Jones, Kristin McConnell, Steven McCormack, Desiree Meredith, Madison Montgomery, David Neeley, Amelia Preston, Hailey Ray and Kylar Reynolds.
Pattonville: Breanna Black, Aaron Burris, Mollye Lay and Matthew Stemen
Pickton: Breanna Raleigh
Point: Chastity Underhill
Ponder: Shawnasee Swenson
Powderly: Rachel Freeman
Quinlan: Avery Christenson, Cody Helm, Christy Ogletree and Chance Pyron
Reno: Lauren Jeans and Stoney Johnson
Roxton: Kalyl McGuire
Royse City: Jared Loftis and London Snipes
Sulphur Springs: Jo A. Boyce, Stephanie Gamez, Lacey Jackson, Nicole Klemptner, Wendy Packert, Calvin Perry, Selena Santana, Faith Schwen, Nima Sherpa and Candes Wakeman
Sumner: Ashley Miller
Wills Point: Ashley Capps, Jicela Cervantes and Isaac Simmons
Wolfe City: Jeramy Howell
Yantis: Bobbie Brown, Magan Smith and Amy Wilburn
Antlers, Oklahoma: Matthew Turner

Promotional Banner