Skip To Content

More About PJC

Jewelry graduates honored during ceremonies May 5

Published or Revised July 08, 2005


TIJT WINNERS: Joseph Suchy, center, won the Stuller Award for Excellence, and Adam Shumpert, right, won the NAMANO Southeastern Findings Award at the Texas Institute of Jewelry Technology graduation. Presenting the awards was Clay Minton, left, owner of Minton Watch Service.

The Texas Institute of Jewelry Technology, a division of Paris Junior College, held spring semester graduation ceremonies Thursday.

Ulla Raus, TIJT division chairperson, welcomed the graduates, their friends and family members, and introduced the TIJT faculty members, Paris Junior College President Dr. Pamela Anglin, and David McAnally, dean of Applied Technologies.

Keynote speaker was Peter LeCody, president of Jewelry Marketing of the Southwest Inc., the regional franchise holder of Fast-Fix Jewelry Repairs. LeCody reminded the students that being a jeweler is a “vibrant and noble position, never dull, always a challenge with room to grow.”

He said, “Your reward may not come in money, awards, or recognition from your peers, but instead you will receive the smile of your customers when their old family watch is brought back to life, or a memory revived in the restoration of an heirloom piece of jewelry.”

Jewelry industry suppliers Stuller and NAMANO/Southeastern Findings, represented by Clay Minton, TIJT Advisory Board member, presented special awards to several students.

The Stuller Platinum Award winner is Joseph Clemens Suchy of Rogers, AR. Gold and Silver Award winners are John Shaver of Paris, and Jeff Sommers of Watauga.

The NAMANO/Southeastern Findings awards went to Adam Schumpert of Seneca, SC, first place; Brian Reed of Greenville, second place; and Jacob Stringer of Alpine, third place.

Students receiving certificates of graduation in the Gemology program were: Bridget Laura Byrne, Kansas City, MO; Jacob L. Gallop, Mineola; Christine Michaele Grandjean, Tuscon, AZ; Paul Perrin, Paris; Lauren Leigh Richard, Opelousas, LA; Laurie Ann Riggs, Ortonville, MI; and Gove Dee Slate, Paris.

Receiving Bench Technician Certification were Chase Brandenburgh, Mansfield; Rebecca L. Frisch, Oshkosh, WI; David F. Lack, Springfield, MO; Paul B. Nguyen, Houston; Adam E. Schumpert, Seneca, SC; Jacob D. Stringer, Alpine; and Michael Thoai Tran, Houston.

Jewelry Technology graduates include: Kristin Arnold, Monroe, LA; Matthew DeLeon, San Antonio; Michael Lee Gaebler, Indianapolis, IN; Chasity Jo Grogan, Neodesha, KS; Joshua Whitt Hartman, Fort Worth; Laura E. Imel, Lyons, KS; Soo M. Kim, Carrollton; E. Diane McMillen, Fort Cobb, OK; William McMillin, Fort Cobb, OK; Kristina A. McNab, Milwaukee, WI; Margaret Rose Opela, Stapleton, NE; Rolando Ortiz, Boerne; Nathan Thomas Regan, Garden City, KS; Kenneth Andrei Seleske, Fort Worth; and Joseph Clemens Suchy, Rogers, AR.

Casting certificates were presented to Kristin Arnold, Michael Gaebler, Chasity Grogan, Joshua Hartman, Kristina McNab and Margaret Opela.

Mark D. Crake of Allen, and Dan W. Hanke of Flower Mound, were awarded certificates in horology.

Brady Bachelor of San Antonio completed JA certification.

Related News:

Bullet Spring 2005 Design Contest winners

Library Hours Banner