Skip To Content

More About PJC

Jacobs wins William A. Owens Scholarship for Creative Writing

Published or Revised April 15, 2005


Lacey Lanee Jacobs of Bogata receives the William A. Owens Scholarship for Creative Writing from Dwight Chaney, dean of arts and science, during PJC’s annual Creative Writing and Art Awards ceremonies.

Awards and scholarships were presented at the 29th annual Creative Writing and Art Awards ceremonies Wednesday at Paris Junior College.

Keynote speaker Bonnie Neely, a local professional writer, told the audience of young writers, artists and photographers to create their own opportunities and use networking to get where they want to be.

“Believe in your work and don’t scare yourself out of success,” she said.

Neely, a graduate of Southern Methodist University and Texas A&M University-Commerce, is owner and president of Bonita Productions Inc., specializing in public relations and all types of writing for individuals and organizations. She is also publisher, editor, writer and webmaster of Real Travel Adventures International Magazine.

Highlighting the event was the presentation of several major scholarships. Lacey Lanee Jacobs of Bogata received the William A. Owens Scholarship for Creative Writing. Jesse Hausler of Clarksville was the runner-up for the award.

Mindy Riffle of Bogata was presented the Paris News Journalism Scholarship. Receiving the Peggy Powell Cameron English Department Scholarship was Deanna Jackson of Paris.

Melissa Gantt of Greenville was named the Outstanding English Student, while Joey Dean of Paris was named the Outstanding Journalism Student.

Receiving the Outstanding Foreign Language Award for Spanish was Hillary Tuttle of Paris.

The Outstanding Student in English as a Second Language Award went to Manuel Rojas, international student from Venezuela. This award is given to a student who gains an exemplary understanding and use of the English language.

“Swingers of Birches,” an anthology of the prize winning entries, published annually by the Communication and Fine Arts Divisions and produced by the PJC Print Shop, were distributed at the reception following the awards ceremony. To receive a copy, contact the English Department.

An exhibit of winning arts works is on public display in the lobby of the J.R. McLemore Student Center April 13-29. Viewing hours are from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday through Thursday, and from 8 a.m. to noon on Friday.

Winners by category include:

Argumentative and informative essay: Lauren Ragan, Paris, 1st place; Jesse Hausler, 2nd place; Bryan Glass, Paris, 3rd place; Cindi Williams, Paris, 4th place; Amy Fonseca, Roxton, and Lacey Jacobs, honorable mention.

Narrative essay: Lacey Jacobs, 1st place; Brittany Burns, 2nd place; Tia Ballard, Paris, 3rd place; Amy Fonseca, 4th place; Katherine Miller, Paris, and Jesse Hausler, honorable mention.

Poetry: Brittany Ackley, Paris, 1st place; Dacey Dingman, Paris, 2nd place; Nilea Rohrer-Parvin, Paris, 3rd place; Jesse Hausler, 4th place; Lacey Jacobs and Tia Ballard, honorable mention.

Regional literature: Jesse Hausler, 1st place; Katherine Miller, 2nd place; Jessica Halcomb, Paris, 3rd place.

Research essay with documentation: Brittany Burns, 1st place; Denetta Thomas, Chicota, 2nd place; Jesse Hausler, 3rd place; Seth Clifford, 4th place; Cigie Gifford, Paris, and Amy Fonseca, honorable mention.

Short story: Jesse Hausler, 1st place; Seth Clifford, 2nd place; Angie Adamson, Paris, 3rd place; Brittany Burns, 4th place; Cody Freelen and Matt Dickinson, Paris, honorable mention.

2-D Design: Ginger Cook, Paris, 1st place; Nilea Rohrer-Parvin, 2nd place; Justin Brooks, 3rd place. Cassie Elsom, Paris, honorable mention.
3-D Design: Erin Weber, Paris, 1st place; James Smith, Blossom, 2nd place; Eddene Roberts, Brashear, 3rd place; Tia Ballard, honorable mention.

Drawing: Sean Norton, Paris, 1st place, 3rd place and honorable mention; Tia Ballard, 2nd place. Erin Weber, honorable mention.

Painting: Mila Wagnon, Paris, 1st place; Lidia Peralta, Paris, 2nd place; Marsha Russell, Paris, 3rd place; Michelle Guillory, Powderly, honorable mention.

Ceramics: Suzette Smith, Powderly, 1st place and honorable mention; Lonnie Pierson, Paris, 2nd place; Shawnee Haley, Paris, 3rd place.

Photography: Anita Donaldson, Paris, 1st and 2nd place; Robert Lairson, Paris, 3rd place; Lane Patterson, Paris, and George Strawn, Idabel, OK, honorable mention.

Library Hours Banner