Skip To Content

More About PJC

PJC celebrates Constitution Day 2018

Published or Revised October 01, 2018

Constitution Day Jeopardy 2018

Constitution Day was celebrated on Sept. 20, 2018 at Paris Junior College in Paris, Greenville, and Sulphur Springs. To see more photos of the game and winning teams, go to

Each year, Paris Junior College marks Constitution Day with a round of Constitution Jeopardy, and this year it was held on Sept. 20, 2018.

Teams of three students representing student clubs or individual classes compete to win prizes. This year, Phi Theta Kappa took first place, African-American Student Union came in second, and Baseball and Delta Psi Omega (drama honor society) tied for third.

In addition, students ask people who are at least 18, friends, family, or random strangers, and can’t have already done the survey in the past twelve months.

“Most respondents say they don’t know anything about the Constitution,” said Government Instructor Ruth Ann Alsobrook. “Some confuse it with the Declaration of Independence, some tell you about the Bill of Rights, and we get many second amendment answers. About ten percent actually have some idea of what the Constitution contains and how it sets up government and protects civil liberties. A very few can actually quote some of the articles in the Constitution.”

Winners in Paris were 1) Phi Theta Kappa with Kareyn Hellmann, Amber Madera, and Shannon Shepherd; 2) Texas Government class with Megan Bankston, Ashtyn Anderson, and Ashton Henderson; and a tie for 3) Baseball with Jaiden Beck, Cannon Davis, and Tristan Kalina, and Delta Psi Omega (drama honor society) with Hanna England, Raden Phillips, and Chaston Tomlin.

In Greenville first place went to the team of Anthony Montalvo, Patrick Robert, and Garrett Shaw; the second place team was Hannah Crabtree, Joshua Lemmon, and Brandon Lemmon; and the third place team was Evangelina Avana, Felicia Arize, Tabitha Kelly, and Allyson Tesky.

In Sulphur Springs the first place team was Olga Bonilla, Parker Cummings, and Presli Cummings; and second place went to Emma Hampton and Josiah McElyea.

Promotional Banner