Skip To Content

More About PJC

PJC fall 2014 jewelry awards ceremony

Published or Revised January 04, 2015

TIJT fall 2014 awards

At top, PJC TIJT students winning Stuller Awards are, from left, Casey Farrell, Jon-David Wiley with the Silver Award, Sarah Helluin with the Gold Award, and Jory Wall with the Platinum Award. Center: Winners were announced in several categories of the TIJT student association design contest. They included, from left: Angelica Guevara, Caroline Brady, Tyler Neves, Erica Smith, Sarah Helluin, Jory Wall and Jon-David Wiley. At bottom: The group receiving certificates at the Paris Junior College Texas Institute of Jewelry Technology at the end of the fall 2014 semester included, from left, front row: Samantha Lanphier, Hannah Piñon, Casey Farrell, Deborah Smith, and Sarah Helluin; second row: Alexandro Reyes and Zack Kirby; third row: Jon-David Wiley, Jory Wall, and Tala Fleenor; and in back row: Katelyn Burgess, Jonathan Du Bois, Bentley Anderson, and Caroline Brady.

An awards and recognition ceremony was held at the end of the fall semester for students attending Paris Junior College’s Texas Institute of Jewelry Technology.

Each semester the TIJT Student Association holds a design contest in various categories. Students who won included Erica Smith in Rendering, Sarah Helluin in Wax Carving, Caroline Brady in CAD Rendering, Tyler Neves in both Metal Arts and Steam Punk, Angelica Guevara in Lapidary, Jon-David Wiley in Restoration, and Jory Wall in Finished Pieces and as overall winner.

Students also heard from second generation watchmaker Clay Minton, who began learning the trade from his father at age 12. He has been in the watch repair and restoration business for 33 years and authored several articles for jewelry and watch trade magazines. Minton has won the President’s Award from the Texas Watchmakers Association and was named an Industry Star in 2001 by Jewelers of America.

Minton repairs and restores Zodiac watches to museum grade for the Zodiac Watch Company museum. Married, with two married daughters and five grandchildren, he sits on PJC’s TIJT Industry Advisory Board. Minton praised the start TIJT offers to students, and then discussed what was needed to stand out in the field.

“The best people in this profession know what they want,” said Minton. “They want to be the best they can be. They set goals - daily goals, weekly goals, monthly goals. They write them down and set timelines to accomplish them. They want it more and have the desire to continue to get better and better. They look for ways to be more profitable, continue learning, and do little things better than their competition.

“The best people in this profession have focus and determination to get things done correctly. They overcome their fears, get out of their comfort zone and address their weaknesses… I hope you will continue to strive to be extraordinary.”

Next on the program was the awarding of the Stuller Awards for Excellence given by Stuller, Inc., of Lafayette, La. The company provides credits to aid graduates in obtaining needed supplies. Stuller supplies tools, findings, and materials needed in the industry. The $500 Platinum Award went to Jory Irvin Wall of Glasgow, Mont. The $300 Gold Award went to Sarah Helluin of Mandeville, Louisiana. The $200 Silver Award was presented to Jon-David Wiley of Hartselle, Ala., and Casey Farrell of Homer, Alaska, was awarded the $100 Bronze Award.

Receiving certificates in Jewelry Technology were: Samantha Lanphier of Pearland, Texas; Jonathan Du Bois of Lafayette, La.; David Glen Limbaugh of Pattonville, Texas; John Bentley Anderson of Yazoo, Miss.; and Helluin.

Bench Technician certificates went to Lanphier; N. Katharine Steadham of Dallas, Texas; Tala Sariah Fleenor of Dallas; Hanna Rose Piñion of McAllen, Texas; Farrell; Michael Zackary Kirby of Lewisburg, Tenn.; Wall; Katelyn Burgess of Clarksville, Texas; and Alexandro Reyes of Fort Worth, Texas.

Receiving certificates in Computer Aided Jewelry Design were Helluin and Neves.

Casting certificates went to Brady, Du Bois, Helluin, Kirby, Lanphier, Steadham, Wall and Deborah J. Smith of Paris, Texas.

Wiley received his certificate in Horology Technology.

Library Hours Banner