Skip To Content

More About PJC

PJC honor society inducts more than 100

Published or Revised January 11, 2017

PTK inductions at PJC

Paris Junior College hosted three induction ceremonies for Phi Theta Kappa during the month of April Greenville (top), Paris (center), and Sulphur Springs (bottom).

More than 100 new members of the Beta Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the two-year college honor society, were inducted at Paris Junior College near the end of the spring semester. Three induction ceremonies were held during the month of April 2016 in Paris, Greenville and Sulphur Springs.

“Just a few years ago, I sat where you are today,” said guest speaker and PJC alumna Paula Vaughan at the Paris ceremony. “I had no idea what Phi Theta Kappa could do for me, where it would take me, and what I could contribute. Words from my induction ceremony stayed in my mind: ‘you will only get out of Phi Theta Kappa what you are willing to put in.’”

Vaughan urged all the new members to become active and take advantage of the opportunities offered by PTK, including $37 million available in transfer scholarships to more than 700 colleges and universities in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, and online. Members are also eligible to apply for scholarships and award programs to assist them with costs of attending two-year schools.

After hearing from speaker Vaughan, new members were inducted by PTK President Joel Mutchler and Vice President of Leadership Rebecca Graham. Installation of new officers was done by Vice President of Scholarship Erick Gaytan Fernandez, Vice President of Fellowship and Membership Kayla Naron, and Historian Lesli Johnson.

At the PJC - Greenville Center, Advisors Diann Mason and David Larkin gave the official welcome, and Mutchler inducted the new members. Alee Corrales was installed as PTK Vice President - Greenville. Recognized for chapter leadership were Secretary John Carroll, Communications & Social Media officer Caleb Artis, and Publicity officer Hannah Palmer.

In Sulphur Springs, Mason and Larkin again gave the official welcome and Mutchler inducted new members. Anna Jones was installed as Vice President - Sulphur Springs. Recognized for chapter leadership were Secretary Amanda Gunnels, Communications officer Chailyah Moore and Publicity officer Nazareth Olguin.

Students who are in PTK also have opportunities to develop qualities of scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service. To be eligible, students must have a grade point average of 3.5.

Inductees light a candle of light and learning and sign the official membership book as part of the ceremony. Following the induction, students, family and friends enjoyed cookies and punch.

PTK inductees, by city (state included if not from Texas), include:

Allen: Kal Kilgo
Argyle: Brenton Boyd
Blossom: Kelsie Bridges, Elizabeth Dougherty, and Alexis Lawson
Bogata: Daniel Jones and Ashlyn Kennedy
Boswell, Okla.: Shawnee Bacon
Brookston: Myranda Cope and Lora Gordon
Burnet: Josef Hernandez
Caddo Mills: Lindsey Carrell, Carmen Carrillo, Josephine Katenkamp, Victoria Nicholson, Caroline Roberts, and Madison Wilcox
Campbell: Josey Elmore
Channelview: Ashley Herrera
Commerce: Hannah Duncan, Sahil Kumar, and Shane Lowe
Cooper: Beverly Hall
Cumby: Aleigh Bessonett and Tiffany McManus
Denton: Jacob Fuess
Deport: Jalyn Weddle
Detroit: Lainey Wolf
Dike: Justin Nichols
El Paso: Jenessa Taylor
Farmers Branch: Jose Velasquez
Fort Worth: Tony Henderson and Darla Johannsen
Granbury: Taylor Deyoung and Nathan Hickey
Greenville: Caleb Artis, Kyle Bousquet, Mireya Calderon, Adam Craven, Kristin Craven, David Guittard, Carla Ingram, Taylor Lowery, Sara Mayfield, Lainey McCullough, Stephanie Messinger, Mariana Ochoa, Julian Olivarez, Joseph Selvaggi, Stacie Swiger, Taylor Wilson, and Sophia Wimberley
Honey Grove: Susan Ned and Andrea Porcayo
Houston: Diana Soto
Liberty Hill: Jaycie Pluenneke
Lone Oak: Paige Nikles and Ashley Voegele
Longview: Brittany Hall
McKinney: Luke Bay
Mesquite: Destiney Diaz
Paris: Nicole Bennett, Reid Britt, Dixon Grossnickle, Tenisha Hampton, Caleb Heatwole, Joe Jackson, Taylor Kropelnicki, Michael Loranger II, Kierra Miller, Lindy Norris, Payton Patrick, Brian Smith, Amy Stearns, Taylor Threadgill, Wietske Tillema, Blair Viehe, and Jason Williams
Pattonville: Lexie Jackson and Nathaniel McClain
Pickton: Nabor Cuevas
Powderly: Kristen Holland
Quinlan: Kaitlyn Ard, Courtney Carroll, Emi’Lee Crenshaw, Cody Floyd, Dezarae Harden, James McDonald, Kayla Millsap, and Mark Thompson
Reno: Michelle Kollar, Timothy Kollar, and Jacob Stripland
Rockwall: Morgan Hargrave and Jessica Yeager
Scroggins: Katie Umbaugh
Sulphur Bluff: Hunter Powers
Sulphur Springs: Taliana Bell, Taylor Broyles, Katie Cooper, Sidney Dietze, Vanessa Gonzalez, Shandi Groezinger, Olivia Gudino, April Hanson, Anna Jones, Megan Lescallett, Ana Miranda, Casie Norris, Hodalis Olmos, Estrella Resendiz, Esmeralda Sanchez, and Micah Stieber
Terrell: Lynsie Brown, Maria Guevara, and Levi Reeves
The Colony: Natalie Collier
Tyler: Garrett Hudson
Wills Point: Ashlynn Clark
Wolfe City: Matthew Sandquist
Yantis: Roselilian Fernandez

Promotional Banner