Skip To Content

More About PJC

PTK holds fall inductions at Paris Junior College

Published or Revised December 15, 2015

Gary Morris

Multiple Phi Theta Kappa induction ceremonies were held at Paris Junior College in the fall semester including Paris (top), Greenville (center), and Sulphur Springs (bottom).

The Beta Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the two-year college honor society at Paris Junior College, held three induction ceremonies this fall in Paris, Greenville and Sulphur Springs.

The Paris ceremony was led by PTK member Elena Crawford, President Joel Mutchler, Vice Preisdent of Fellowship and Membership Kayla Naron, and Vice President of Scholarship Erick Gaytan Fernandez, as well as chapter advisor and English instructor Diann Mason.

PTK Texas Regional District III Vice President Isaac Burris, from the Alpha Mu Chi chapter of Northeast Texas Community College, was the guest speaker at the Paris ceremony. While praising those being inducted for their achievement, several times he challenged the audience by asking, “is this all you want?” He encouraged the new members to reach for all they could achieve.

At the PJC - Greenville Center, Director John Shasteen gave the official welcome and Mason and Mutchler were joined by Greenville and Sulphur Springs PTK chapter advisor and history/government instructor David Larkin for the induction, as well as Greenville PTK members Lenora Willman and Emily Callaghan.

In Sulphur Springs, Mutchler, Mason and Larkin were joined by PTK Vice President - Sulphur Springs Amy Wilburn to conduct the ceremony. Dr. Phillip Williams, director of the PJC - Sulphur Springs Center, gave the formal welcome.

PTK offers $37 million in transfer scholarships to more than 700 colleges and universities in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, and online. Members are also eligible to apply for scholarships and award programs to assist them with costs of attending two-year schools.

Students who are in PTK also have opportunities to develop qualities of scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service. To be eligible, students must have a grade point average of 3.5.

Inductees light a candle of light and learning and sign the official membership book as part of the ceremony. Following the induction, students, family and friends enjoyed cookies and punch.

PTK inductees from Texas, by city, include:

Bagwell: Krystal Freeman
Blossom: Colton Gordon, Haylee Hart, Savanaha Humphrey and Trystan Chapman
Bogata: Lesli Johnson
Campbell: Richard Lott
Coppel: Elizabeth Ahrens
Deport: James Navia
Farmersville: Ashleigh Evans
Granbury: Nathan Hickey
Greenville: John Carroll, Amy Daugherty, Gregory Dorough, David Guittard, Patrick Jones, Brandy Petrea, Carly Prim, Anne-Elizabeth Rouleau, David Tanoos, Celeste Weaver, and Anna Welch
Honey Grove: Susan Ned and Eva Peters
Ladonia: Diana Moore
Lone Oak: Justin Carson and Becca Schumann
Mansfield: Corey Murray
Merit: Tamra Helka
Paris: Christopher Barnett, Heather Biondo, Erin Boaz, Allison Bratcher, Daniella Callaway, Chelsea Delarosa, Lacey Dickey, Alain Garcia, Leonel Gutierrez, Micah Heatwole, Marin Ivers, Alexis Jameson, Lesli Johnson, John Newman, Amy Stearns, Kelsey Thompson, Lauren Thompson, Hunter Tuggle, David Vandenburg, Kendall Vogt, and Elise Winter
Pattonville: Philip Baker
Point: Justin Kellogg
Powderly: Andrew Babb, Peter Babb, Miranda Harrimon, William Scudder, Jimmy Sisson, and Elisha Skidmore
Quinlan: Alexandra Corrales and Ian Floyd
Reno: Kimberly Cox
Roxton: Bailea Branum and Raven Maxwell
Sulphur Bluff: Kaci Powers
Sulphur Springs: Shelby Bales, Gillan Boyer, Marcy Fisher, Kara Garner, Taylor Harden, Anna Jones, Catherine Knotek, Jessica Martinez, Karla Martinez, Amanda Osorio, Nazareth Olguin Resendiz, Daniel Riera, Brianne Roland, Emely Sosa, Hannah Van Vleet, Jessica Worth, and Chaliyah Moore
Sumner: Erin Hurst and Amelia Purvis
Terrell: Jayce Gibson
Trenton: Bailey Burks
Wills Point: Brittney Wilson
Winnsboro: Rhett Deaton and Amanda Gunnels
Wolfe City: Lisa McKenzie

PTK inductees from other states include:
Benton, Ark.: Crystal Lee
Boswell, Okla.: Shawnee Bacon
Hugo, Okla.: John Brunson

Promotional Banner