Skip To Content

More About PJC

PJC honor society inducts over 100 students for spring semester

Published or Revised March 24, 2015

PTK induction

Paris Junior College honor society inducts over 100 students

More than 100 Paris Junior College students were inducted into the Beta Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the two-year college honor society, Thursday, March 12.

“Phi Theta Kappa is so important to PJC,” said PJC President Dr. Pamela Anglin, as she welcomed the audience. “This is one of the largest groups of inductees we’ve ever had so I want to be the first to congratulate you. Being part of the national honor society at your school will be with you the rest of your life and on your transcript it will proudly say that you were Phi Theta Kappa.”

Invited speaker was Major Rhonda Rogers, U.S. Air Force Retired, a graduate of Paris High School who was a PTK member while she attended PJC. She later went on to the graduate from the University of Texas, Ball State University with a Masters in Public Administration, and New Orleans Baptist Seminary with a Masters in Marriage and Family Counseling. Her career in the U.S. Air Force took her to Germany and several states. She has taught at several levels, including as an adjunct at PJC, served as a full-time caregiver and as a tax preparer for the past 15 years.

“I loved Phi Theta Kappa when I was here,” said Rogers, “I congratulate all of you who are being inducted. I was shocked at the number of people who have done so well that you’ve been invited to join, I was thrilled to see that.”

Rogers encouraged everyone to get as much as possible out of their membership in the honor society.

PTK lead advisor Diann Mason and PTK President Kristin McConnell, Vice President Jeramy Howell, and Secretary/Historian Paula Vaughan led the induction ceremony.

PTK offers $37 million in transfer scholarships to more than 700 colleges and universities in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, and online. Members are also eligible to apply for scholarships and award programs to assist them with costs of attending two-year schools.

Students who are in PTK also have opportunities to develop qualities of scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service.

As each new member’s name was read, the students lit their candle of light and learning and signed the official membership book.

Students inducted (first from Texas towns, then other states/countries) include:

Annona: Madeline Price

Arthur City: Karlisa Dawes, Rebecca Graham and Riley Hodnett

Blossom: Krystal Dill and Kalsea White

Bonham: Cheyenne Pollan

Burleson: Amber Campbell

Caddo Mills: McKlane Bobbitt, Mary Ratcliff and Peyton Rice

Campbell: Madeline Oakes and Rachel Sosebee

Celeste: William Rockett

Clarksville: Brittany Ince and Geovanna Rodriguez

Cooper: Jack Cain, Garrett Rushing and Javier Salazar

Dallas: Stanton Lohrengel

Denton: Kennedy Been

Deport: Jaylan Mitchell

Emory: Kristopher Koon and Bethany Webb

Greenville: Mario Bueso, Billy Davis, Jonathan Eakin, Jason Evans, Cipriano Gonzales, Andrea Griggs, Shelby Hauser, Kenzie Martin, Joshua Parrish, John Pickle, Silvia Ross, Rita Sicard and Tristan Swanzy

Heath: Russell Hughes

Honey Grove: Tom Greineder and Monica Williams

Klondike: Zachery Jester

Ladonia: Michele Davis

Longview: Cameron Copeland

Mckinney: Garrett Dodd

Mount Vernon: Rosa Casildo

Paris: Randi Armstrong, Kylei Burchinal, Keondra Byrd, Kaylie Dority, James Ellis, Kevion Ellis, Kurteisha Ellis, Michael Hamilton, Brandy Hudson, Timothy Hudson, Mario Monasterio, Michael Montgomery, Kayla Naron, Misty Parsons, Sophia Pentland, Michael Pullins, Susana Tan, Nicholas Tisdell, Deborah Upchurch, Cody Vorwerk and Abigail White

Point: Chad Sherrin

Powderly: Stephanie Eudy and William Eudy

Quinlan: Lauren Burks, Emily Callaghan, Allyson Norris, Sydney Reagan and Keran Serrano

Rockwall: Kristin Northcutt

Rowlett: Ashley Catlin, Jeremy Robertson and Robyn Vest

Royse City: Amanda Corrior and Angela McKeehan

Spring: Mateo Ibranji

Sulphur Bluff: Kaci Powers

Sulphur Springs: Courtney Adams, Katherine Barnett, Caroline Berning, Jo Boyce, Sofia Guerrero, Iris Gutierrez, Eric Landeros, Skyler Martin, Zuleyma Miranda-Hernandez, Joshua Robertson, Harlee Schulz, Elizabeth Scott, Brandy Seagraves, Paul Stieber, Jonathan Williams and Alma Zapata

Van Alstyne: Hunter Offill

Wills Point: Charles Willman and Lenora Willman

Winnsboro: Jillian Fisher

Wolfe City: Heather Grandfield and Madison Skinner

Yantis: Kaylyn Nunez

Inductees from other states/countries:

Hugo, OK: Ashlynn Finch

Bansko, Bulgaria: Iliana Chakarova

Curitiba, Brazil: Natalia Saar

Promotional Banner