Skip To Content

More About PJC

“Songs of the Season” scheduled for Nov. 19

Published or Revised November 08, 2007

The Paris Junior College Chorale will join with the top choral groups from Paris High School and North Lamar High School to present its annual Christmas extravaganza, “Songs of the Season,” according to Patricia Fowzer, PJC’s vocal music director.

The concert will be presented at 7:30 p.m. Monday, Nov. 19, in the sanctuary of the First Baptist Church. The concert opens with a song for the Thanksgiving season, For the Beauty of the Earth by John Rutter.

The annual concert has become a community tradition for almost 20 years and will feature 105 of the county’s best voices. Jan Blize directs the Paris High School choral program, and Rebecca Hildreth is the North Lamar High School choral director.

The combined group will present many Christmas favorites: O Holy Night; One Small Child; Mary, Did You Know; and Carol of the Drum. The choir will be accompanied by string players from the Dallas-Fort Worth area along with brass, woodwind and percussion instrumentation provided by the area’s band directors.

Each of these choir programs earn many honors each year, and the directors encourage everyone to come and enjoy one of the most outstanding concerts of the season.

Tickets are available at the PJC Music Department, room 108; the Paris High School choir room; the North Lamar High School choir room; Newman Towne and Country Realty; and First Methodist Church. Tickets are $7 per person. Children under 5 are admitted free with an adult. Tickets must be purchased in advance. They may also be reserved by calling 903-782-0343.

Members of the PJC Chorale include: Brandi Amos, Nathan Archambeault, Cade Bailey, Marcus Bailey, Donna Bauder, Elaine Beebe, Pat Bell, Tyeisha Balke, Alden Bowers, Amy Chennault, Dillon Dingman, Eboni Dixon, Kristen Eudy, Nancy Gilmer, Kristen Guillory, Elana Mullins, Samantha House, Donovan Irby, Bridget Johnson, Cate Jones, Brittany Joseph, Tyler Little, Amanda Mathews, Erin McDowell, Marilee Miller, Chase Nation, Sattriona Myachwaya, Amber Orr, Jordan Perry, Cody Phifer, Kristyn Phillips, Joey Rember, Sammy Rollerson, Laura Routon, Robert Shores, Jordon Thielman, Kelsey Turk, Ashlee Waggoner, Antonio Wagnon, Tommy Wallace, Latrain Wilburn, Chaz Wilson, Ashley Wrice and Tim Yohn.

Library Hours Banner