Skip To Content

More About PJC

PJC marks 50 years of nursing graduates

Published or Revised September 04, 2019

2019 ADN Awards

The PJC associate degree pinning ceremony, held August 16, 2019, also featured student awards. Shown from top, Amy Watson receives her Clinical Achievement Award from Associate Degree Nursing Instructor Judith Baxley; Sandra Dougherty is given her Student Choice Award by Baxley; Sabrina Wilson receives the Academic Achievement Award for student with the highest grade point average from Baxley; and, at bottom, perfect attendance awards were received by (front row, l-r) Mauricio Gamez, Randa Dennis, Krista Hallenberger, Monica Hawthorne, and Sabrina Wilson; and (back row, l-r) Allyson Norris, Vianna Ross, Holli-Von Sawyer, Cassi Snell, and Mikaela Jacks. See all the photos at

Attendees at the Paris Junior College associate degree nursing awards and pinning ceremony held Friday, August 16 were welcomed to the ceremony with the news that it has been 50 years since the first group of nursing students graduated from PJC.

The Clinical Achievement Award, chosen by the faculty for the student who is willing to help their peers, has an excellent bedside manner and is very good in skills performance, went to Amy Watson.

The Academic Achievement Award for highest grade point average in all classes throughout the program was presented to Sabrina Wilson.

Sandra Dougherty was selected by her peers for the Student Choice Award as the student who best exemplifies the nursing profession.

Associate degree perfect attendance awards went to Randa Dennis, Mauricio Gamez, Krista Hallenberger, Monica Hawthorne, Mikaela Jacks, Allyson Norris, Vianna Ross, Holli-Von Sawyer, Cassi Snell, and Sabrina Wilson.

Texas students receiving pins at the ceremony include:

Bagwell: Sabrina Wilson
Blossom: Kelsie Bridges, Evelyn Pridemore
Bonham: Alison Craig
Brookston: Tanzila Hostetler, Cassi Snell
Campbell: Sarah Kreft
Commerce: Melissa Cawthron
Cumby: Sandra Dougherty
Dallas: Wanda Nneji
Detroit: Macie Looney
Greenville: Carla Ingram, Megan Kaufman, Rosanna Marquez, Christina McDonald, Allyson Norris, Brandy Petrea, Gregory Stroder, Lynn Tran, Crissty Williams
Ivanhoe: Amy Watson
Ladonia: Haley Lawhon
Lewisville: Octavia Harris
Paris: Vianna Ross, Jayde Boehlar, Sarah Carlile, Randa Dennis, Lexie Halley, Monica Hawthorne, Jaslyn Reynolds, Baylie Rowell, Maci Sikes, Juliee Strain, Natalie Thomas, Jodi Tobin, Stacie Wheeler, Taylor Wolfe, Leia Woodrow
Point: Amber Hampton
Reno: Brittany Nichols
Royse City: Krista Hallenberger
Saltillo: Yesenia Ochoa
Sherman: Mark Murray
Sulphur Springs: Allison Bledsoe, Jose Franco Jr., Mauricio Gamez, Mikaela Jacks, Megan Jones, Rachel Killgore, Mollye Lay, Lorie Martin, Darlynn Montgomery, Holli-Von Sawyer
Wolfe City: Sarah Brummett, Olivia Mexia

Also receiving a pin at the ceremony was Kristen Holiday from Hugo, Okla.

Library Hours Banner