Skip To Content

More About PJC

Fall honor society induction held at PJC

Published or Revised November 13, 2017

PTK inductions fall 2018

Top: Those attending the Phi Theta Kappa induction at the Paris Junior College - Greenville Center this week included, from left, seated Allee Casey, Isla Casey, Anna Corrales, Alva Craig, standing in back are VPTK Vice President Alexis Montego, Tristan Frank, Shelby Tomlinson, PTK Advisor Ryan Jarrell, Aaron Hendrix, Noah Esters, Amanda Denney, and PTK Secretary Maria Ross. Center: Shown at the Paris induction are, from left: PTK Co-Vice President Communication/Historian Chelsey Walker, Kareyn Hellman, Christian Cortes, PTK Co-Vice President Communication/Historian Joss Harrington, Kyson Hogue, Courtney Bush, PTK Vice President of Fellowship/Membership Korbin Hamner, PTK Co-Vice President of Service Megan Grogan, Mandy Freeman, PTK President Sarah Carlile, PTK Co-Vice President of Service Cade Shawhart, PTK Vice President of Leadership Ally Huddleston, and Esmeralda Sanchez. Below: New PTK members inducted at the Paris Junior College - Sulphur Springs Center are Parker Cummings, center, and Rebecca Harman (to his right). Not pictured is new member Brenna Murray. Helping conduct the service were, from left, Advisor Trina Lubbe, PTK Vice President Anna Jones, and at right, Advisor Melissa Arnold.

The Beta Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the two-year college honor society at Paris Junior College, held fall induction ceremonies in Greenville, Paris, and Sulphur Springs last week.

PTK offers students opportunities to develop qualities of scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service. To be eligible, students must have a grade point average of 3.5. They also may become eligible for transfer scholarships.

Inductees light a candle of light and learning and sign the official membership book as part of the ceremony. Following the induction, students, family and friends enjoyed cookies and punch.

Newly inducted students from Texas:
Caddo Mills: Nicole Hewett, Elijah Moore
Celeste: Shelby Tomlinson
Greenville: Zona Alcorn, Alva Craig, Darryl Duff, Tristan Frank, Ashley Hahn, Shannon Heard, Whitney Jones
Lone Oak: Aden Boyer, Chris Gondron
Paris: Christian Cortes, Chance Bell, Raegan Booker, Megan Grogan, Korbin Hamner, Kareyn Hellmann, Kyson Hogue, Ally Huddleston, Shelbi May, Esmeralda Sanchez
Pickton: Parker Cummings
Powderly: Courtney Bush, Mandy Freeman
Quinlan: Anna Corrales, Mark Eastin, Rebecca Harman, Kaija Short, Joshua Wells
Royse City: Ashley Friedrichs, Destiny Sakolevidis
Sulphur Springs: Brenna Murray
Wolfe City: Anthony Dickey

Out of state inductees included:
Colbert, Okla.: Amanda Denny

Library Hours Banner