Skip To Content

More About PJC

Phi Theta Kappa chapter members honored in Austin

Published or Revised March 27, 2006


Members of the Paris Junior College Beta Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa attended the state PTK conference held recently in Austin. From left is Paris campus advisor Toni McMillen, Telly Chaverria of the Paris campus, faculty member and alumnae Pam Smith, Mitzi Giles of the Sulphur Springs Center, Deborah Whitney of the Greenville Center, and Greenville and Sulphur Springs advisor Joe Jackson.

The Paris Junior College Beta Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa won several awards at Phi Theta Kappa’s recent state conference held in Austin.

Students Susan Gossett of Paris and Telly Chaverria of Bonham were inducted into the 2006 All-Texas Academic Team in a ceremony held at the LBJ Library.

Dr. John Pickleman, Chancellor of the North Harris Montgomery Community College District, awarded both Gossett and Chaverria a gold medal for their outstanding scholastic achievements of maintaining high academic achievement, as well as for their leadership and service to their college and their community.

PJC President Dr. Pamela Anglin was inducted into the Presidential Hall of Honor for her distinguished service to the Beta Zeta chapter. She was the only chief executive so honored in the state of Texas.

In addition, the PJC Beta Zeta chapter that includes the Paris, Greenville and Sulphur Springs campuses, was recognized for its outstanding Scholarship Hallmark from among the 80 or more chapters that participated in the state competition. Chris Seward of Sulphur Springs, past present of the chapter, and Gossett prepared the winning Scholarship Hallmark presentation.

Richard Hayes of Cooper received recognition as the state’s outstanding Phi Theta Kappa new member, and faculty member Pam Smith received the state’s outstanding alumni member award.

Two of Beta Zeta’s faculty advisors were inducted into the state Advisors’ Hall of Honor. Toni McMillen, advisor for the Paris campus, and Joe Jackson, advisor for the Greenville and Sulphur Springs campuses, received medals for their contributions to Beta Zeta and to Phi Theta Kappa, and were also inducted into the state/regional Hall of Honor for Advisors.

Another advisor, Marsha Dennis, received the Horizon Award for Advisors of college chapters that show great growth in the previous year.

Promotional Banner