Skip To Content

More About PJC

PJC Holds Honor Society Induction

Published or Revised May 02, 2014

PTK spring induction at PJC photo

Paris Junior College held an induction ceremony Sunday, April 27, for Phi Theta Kappa, the two-year college honor society. Attendees included on front row (from left) PTK historian/secretary Paula Vaughn; guest speaker Teleroro Chaverria; Heidi Bourcier of Paris; Hunter Schepis of Roxton; Lacy Ashton, Chelsea Pirtle, and Tristin Strickland of Paris; Erin Stone of Powderly; Collin Thomas of Paris and Twila Naleen Taylor of Greenville. Second row: PTK vice president Destiny Mullens; PTK sponsor Joe Jackson; Demi Sheppard of Paris; Morgan Monzingo of Cedar Hill; Jose Colin of Paris; Alexa Bussell of Powderly; Diana Ramirez of Sulphur Springs (prior inductee); Kaitlyn Hankins of Pickton (prior inductee); Ciara Yates of Reno and Sheena Wright of Sulphur Springs. Third row: PTK Treasurer Stuart Edris; Lavelt Page of Duncanville; Kalyn Paris of Frisco; Christine Essary of Paris; Chelsey Davis of Celeste; Alonso Gallegos of Sulphur Springs; and Catherine Brown of Greenville. Back row: PTK president Aaron Sturgess; Misty Good of Paris; Jana Martin of Paris; Austin McDaniel of Flower Mound; Jake Oden of Longview; Kindyl Parks of Paris; Joel Mutchler of Bogata; and Rick McCann of Sulphur Springs.

The Beta Zeta chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, the two-year college honor society, is celebrating its 80th anniversary at Paris Junior College and inducted new members this Sunday. PTK began in 1918, and the PJC chapter started in 1934. A gold PTK seal is placed on a student’s diploma to demonstrate their academic accomplishments.

PTK officers, President Aaron Sturgess, Vice President Destiny Mullens, Treasurer Stuart Edris, and Historian/Secretary Paula Vaughan led the ceremony.

The featured speaker was former Beta Zeta chapter president Teleroro Chaverria, also a winner of PJC’s Distinguished Service Award. He taught biology at Paris High School and now teaches at John Horn High School in Mesquite while working on his master’s degree at Texas A&M University-Commerce.

“I’m well aware of the hard work and determination it took to get here,” Chaverria said. “Encourage each other, enjoy the fellowship, and remember the friendships you make.”

He urged members to help others in need through community service.

Students who are in PTK have opportunities to develop qualities of scholarship, leadership, fellowship, and service.

PTK offers $37 million in transfer scholarships to more than 700 colleges and universities in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, and online. Members are also eligible to apply for scholarships and award programs to assist them with costs of attending two-year schools.

As each new member’s name was read, the students lit their candle of light and learning and signed the official membership book.  Students inducted and their hometowns in Texas include:

Arthur City: Tiffany J. Dawes
Bagwell: Kayla Presley
Blossom: Johnathan D. Brown and Elia Rangel
Bogata: Joel Mutchler
Brenham: Haiden Lane
Caddo Mills: Sara M. Christopher, Triston Gray, Alyssa A. Toming, and Jimmy Vaughn
Cedar Hill: Morgan Monzingo
Celeste: Chelsey Davis
Commerce: Stephanie Chapman and Jonathon Glass
Detroit: Lane Manginell
Duncanville: Lavelt D. Page
Flower Mound: Austin McDaniel and Tyler Pohl
Frisco: Kalyn Paris and Ryan C. Pulsifer
Greenville: Kimberly Baldwin, Taylor E. Bigony, Catherine S. Brown, Sherri E. Cano, Joel Collins, Carl L. Evans, Christopher D. Hazlett, Kalli Moyer, Daria Shelton, Elizabeth R. Shirey, Nathan Slinkard, and Twila Naleen Taylor.
Lone Oak: Wendy E. Elmore
Longview: Jake Oden
Mineola: Jonathan Allen
Paris: Lacy N. Ashton, Madison R. Bolton, Heidi Bourcier, Jose Colin, Amanda M. Cooke, Samuel R. Craft, Stephanie Damian, Kaitlyn Edwards, Christine E. Essary, Misty D. Good, Kinsey L. Hutto, Haden Kennemer, Beverly Malone, Jana Martin, Kindyl Dean Parks, Chelsea Pirtle, Scott Powell, Alexander Ricketts, Demi Sheppard, Tristin S. Strickland, and Collin Thomas
Point: Desire’ Tucker
Powderly: Alexa Bussell, Erin E. Stone, and Kaylee Michelle Thomason
Quinlan: James Cantrell, Dakota McBride, and Kayly McKeown
Ravenna: Angela Y. Mitchell
Reno: Ciara C. Yates
Roxton: Hunter Schepis
Royse City: David O. Allen and Kathrine Kirkland
Sulphur Bluff: Ryan J. Watts
Sulphur Springs: Aleya Biggers, Stephanie Bradford, Velda E. Claxton, Leydie S. Franco, Valorie Nell Frazier, Alonso Gallegos, Rick McCann, Madison Millsap, Andrea D. Rodriguez, Jarrett Thornton, Sean E. Vance, Sheena R. Wright
Wolfe City: Brittany Lynn Beegle
Yantis: Keri Glenn

Also inducted was Jory Wall of Glasgow, Montana.

Library Hours Banner