Skip to main content

You may find the links below to be helpful as you explore the PJC website.

Carroll Dawson Cup

Published or Revised September 11, 2019

Listed below are recipients of PJC's Carroll Dawson Cup, named in honor of the Dragons Hall of Fame basketball player and awarded to the Most Valuable Player in Dragons men's basketball. It was first awarded in 1994.
  • 2018-2019: Tarik McKelphin, Plant City, Florida; Jalon Pipkins, Paris, Texas
  • 2017-2018: Leon Redd, Grand Rapids, Michigan; Reggie Tharp, Fort Wayne, Indiana; Darius A. Williams, Augusta, Georgia
  • 2016-17: Jordan Embry, Paris, Texas; Devin Jackson, Houston, Texas
  • 2015-16: Devin Jackson, Houston, Texas
  • 2014-15: Jo'vone Haynes, Detroit, Michigan
  • 2013-14: Jovan Austin, Grand Prairie, Texas; Nouhoum Bocoum, Harlem, N.Y.; Treyvon Seymore, Waterbury, Conn.; Ronnie White, Chicago, Ill.; and Delvin Dickerson, Houston, Texas
  • 2012-13: Anthony Adams, Pontiac, Mich.
  • 2011-12: Philip Hawkins, Washington, D.C., and Terrance (T.J.) Taylor, Denison, Texas
  • 2010-11: Xavier Robertson, Houston, Texas
  • 2009-10: Desmond King, Alexandria, La.
  • 2008-09: Kenny Gabriel, Charlotte, N.C.
  • 2007-08: Eric Tramiel, Shreveport, La.
  • 2006-07: Ramon Clemente, Queens, N.Y.
  • 2005-06: Brian Burrell, Nacogdoches, Texas, and Ramon Clemente, St. Albans, N.Y.
  • 2004-05: Alexander Starr, Dallas, Texas
  • 2003-04: Ricky Woods, New Orleans, La.
  • 2002-03: Ed McCants, Marion, Ohio, and Eddie Jackson, Cleburne, Texas
  • 2001-02: Thaddeus Daggett, Akron, Ohio, and Robert Hart, Dallas, Texas
  • 2000-01: Robert Hart, Dallas, Texas, and Corey Stokes, East Chicago, Ind.
  • 1999-00: Dominic Smith, AshLand, Va.
  • 1998-99: D'Andre Davis, Houston, Texas, and Dominic Smith, AshLand, Va.
  • 1997-98: Marques Evans, Cleveland, Ohio
  • 1996-97: Decordia Cole, Gary, Ind.
  • 1995-96: Stacy Lamb, Dallas, Texas
  • 1994-95: Trey Moore, Houston, Texas
  • 1993-94: Darrell Bogan, Houston, Texas, and Cornelius Frazier, Junction City, Ark.