Skip to main content

Board of Regents

Published or Revised November 15, 2022

Paris Junior College is governed by a nine-member Board of Regents. The board is elected from eight single-member districts and one at-large district to represent the individuals residing within the Paris Junior College taxing district of Lamar County. Members of the Paris Junior College Board of Regents are: 

  • Curtis Fendley, President
    Place 9 (Precinct 1)
    Term Ends 2024
  • Dr. Clifton Wilkerson, Vice President
    Place 3 (Precinct 3)
    Term Ends 2026
  • Berdie Gibson, Secretary
    Place 1 (Precinct 2)
    Term Ends 2028
  • Josh Bray
    Place 8 (Precinct 4)
    Term Ends 2028
  • Ginna Bowman
    Place 6 (Precinct 3)
    Term Ends 2024
  • Mark Buster
    Place 5 (At Large)
    Term Ends 2024
  • Dr. Linda Kapp
    Place 7 (Precinct 1)
    Term Ends 2026
  • Charles Lynch
    Place 4 (Precinct 4)
    Term Ends 2026
  • Shannon McGuire
    Place 2 (Precinct 2)
    Term Ends 2028

Regents Agenda

The most recent meeting agenda of the PJC Board of Regents is available below in PDF format. 

Election Information

The Paris Junior College District Board of Regents consists of nine members elected by the qualified voters of the College District. Elections are held on the official election Tuesday in November of even-numbered years. Each member shall be elected for a term of six years. Terms are staggered whereby three positions expire each even-numbered year in November. The next general election of the Board is November 3, 2020. Polling place locations are determined in conjunction with the other Lamar County political subdivisions that will conduct an election on the same date. Applications can be obtained during regular business hours at: Paris Junior College, Office of the President, 2400 Clarksville Street, Paris, TX 75460. This is the same location to file your application. 

To be eligible to be a candidate for, or elected or appointed to, a public elective office in this state, including a college district board member, a person must: 

1) Be a United States citizen. 

2) Be 18 years of age or older on the first day of the term to be filled at the election or on the date of appointment, as applicable. 

3) Have not been determined by a final judgment of a court exercising probate jurisdiction to be: 

  • Totally mentally incapacitated; or 
  • Partially mentally incapacitated without the right to vote. 

4) Have not been finally convicted of a felony from which the person has not been pardoned or otherwise released from the resulting disabilities. 

5) Have resided continuously in the state for 12 months and in the territory from which the office is elected for six months immediately preceding the following date:

  • For an independent candidate, the date of the regular filing deadline for a candidate’s application for a place on the ballot.
  • For a write-in candidate, the date of the election at which the candidate’s name is written in.
  • For an appointee to an office, the date the appointment is made. 

6) On the date described by number 5, be registered to vote in the territory from which the office is elected. Tex. Const. Art. XVI, Sec. 14; Election Code 141.001(a); Education Code 130.082(d), (g); Gov’t Code 601.009; Att’y Gen. Op. GA-555 (2007) Each member of the board shall be a resident, qualified voter. Education Code 130.082(d) State statute assigns specific powers and duties to a college district board.